Monday, February 18, 2013

Formation of the Task Force on the Study of Marriage

On Thursday, February 14, the Presiding Bishop Katharine Jefferts Schori and House of Deputies President Gay Jennings announced the composition of the Task Force on the Study of Marriage. Resolution A050, passed at The General Convention of The Episcopal Church in July, 2012, called for “not more than twelve people, consisting of theologians, liturgists, pastors, and educators, to identify and explore biblical, theological, historical, liturgical, and canonical dimensions of marriage.”  

As the resolution specifies, the group is intended to develop tools for theological reflection and norms for theological discussion as part of a wider relational, contextual process:

·      to consider the following issues in the U.S. and in other countries where The Episcopal Church is located (e.g. parts of Europe, Haiti, the D.R., Venezuela, etc):

1)    changing societal and cultural norms
2)    changing legal structures, including legislation authorizing or forbidding marriage, civil unions, or domestic partnerships between two people of the same sex

·      to develop tools for theological reflection and norms for theological discussion at a local level

·      to consult with the following constituencies as part of this work:

1)    the Standing Commissions on A) Constitution and Canons and on B) Liturgy and Music “to address the pastoral need for priests to officiate at a civil marriage of a same-sex couple in states that authorize such”
2)    couples in married or committed partnerships, as well as single adults
3)    Anglican Communion and Ecumenical partners

·      to report its progress to the 78th General Convention in 2015

TransEpiscopal supports the work of the task force and is proud that its co-convener Reverend Dr. Cameron Partridge has been nominated to it, along with past IntegrityUSA president the Reverend Canon Susan Russell.

No comments: